Latest News

Akpabio, Onu Resign As Ministers Over Buhari’s Order

2023 Presidency: Akpabio, Onu Resign As Ministers Over Buhari’s Order

The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, a presidential aspirant of the All Progressive Congress, has resigned his position.

Also resigning his position was the Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, another presidential aspirant of the ruling party.

The Ministers’ resignation is coming on the heels of the resignation order issued by President Muhammadu Buhari, during Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council Meeting.

President Buhari had given all members of his cabinet vying for political offices in the 2023 general elections to resign before May 16, 2022.

Akpabio’s resignation was confirmed by his media aide, Jackson Udom, saying;

“The Minister has resigned. He has submitted his resignation letter to the SGF. We are waiting for him at the ICC, where he is coming to submit his nomination form”.

Both ministers joined the minister of state for education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who had his resignation announced by the President at the FEC meeting.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x